Spiral (Engrenages) S3 E1/2

Posted on Updated on

When The Killing started, I really didn’t want to tie myself into watching 20 hours of subtitled drama on a Saturday night, but I felt obliged to at least give it a go. And damn the thing if it didn’t leave me gasping by the end of the first hour, deeply and permanently addicted to see it through to the end.

Now The Killing – or Forbrydelsen as we true fans like to call it, to prove our smart arse credentials – is finished and a gaping void awaits us on the Saturday night BBC4 schedules into which the network hopes to inject another lengthy subtitled European crime drama – the third series of French drama Spiral, a.k.a. Engrenages. Since my ‘taste’ of The Killing led to such delights, I figured at the very least that I had to extend the same courtesy to Spiral as well: watch the first week’s episodes and then take it from there.

There’s no doubting that Spiral is a very solidly made piece of high quality programme making, with impressive performances all around. And yet at the end of that first week’s episodes, I came away … completely indifferent. When the following Saturday came around, I still felt a sense of obligation that I should watch, but once I made the decision not to, my mood instantly lightened and I knew that it was the right call.

So why did Spiral not work for me? I think partly it was because it seemed very similar to the likes of familiar BBC fare Silent Witness and Waking the Dead in the sense of being dark and gritty, and everyone having issues and rows with/shouting at everyone else, and the whole spirit of the show being of things being crap and falling apart. Lord knows, The Killing was no music-and-dance joy-fest and had its moments of friction, but somehow it did it all so much beter, with more subtlety, intelligence and class.

Where The Killing compelled by concentrating on one case throughout, Spiral is structured with one over-arcing “Butcher of La Villette” serial killer (yawn) storyline but individual episodes seem like stand-alone instalments focussing on red herring or distraction cases and multiple unrelated sub-plots for the straggling cast all of which feels like an exercise in filling up an hour’s screen time instead of every single moment feeling like it’s absolutely vital to the storyline, as is the case with The Killing

And all of the above rather gives the game away with what’s really wrong with Spiral for me: it’s not The Killing. I’m comparing the two shows with each other all the time, and Spiral is coming out distinctly second best in every department. It’s not its fault, and I suspect that if the show had been aired maybe two months down the line when memories of The Killing had faded a little, then Spiral would leave a distinctly better impression. Simply put, I think BBC4 have made a mistake by bringing this show in so hard-on-the-heels of their Danish breakout super-hit – and that’s a shame.

Meanwhile I’m pleased to have my Saturday night’s freed up and not to have to commit to another subtitled programme straight off. It gives me time to build up my strength for the rigours of Forbrydelsen 2 in the autumn …

2 thoughts on “Spiral (Engrenages) S3 E1/2

    manctofu said:
    June 13, 2011 at 4:05 pm

    I hate to state the obvious, but Spiral had two whole series before this one. Some of the stories are linked between series, so watching it from Series 3 and judging it on that basis is just plain daft.

    andrewlewin responded:
    June 13, 2011 at 4:29 pm

    Yep, I wouldn’t disagree. I did take advice on this and everyone I asked said “Oh, you’ll be okay, this one’s pretty self-contained and a good place to start from” (and I didn’t notice any obviously linked/continuing stories that confused me) but in hindsight I do think that this was a factor as well.

    Anyway, As I hope the review made clear, I think circumstances simply conspired so that I never gave it a fair going, for one reason or another (mainly the proximity to “The Killing” I suspect.) I aim to get the DVDs of series 1 of Spiral and try to watch it properly, at a better time, to give it a fairer crack of the whip, and if I do I’ll definitely follow up this post with a more informed view.

Leave a Reply

